Mikelle’s Reflections
March 22, 2012, 4:15 pm
Filed under: 10th Anniversary

By Mikelle Antoine (PhD), Assistant Professor at Ashesi University – Expository Writing; Africa in the International Setting; Leadership Seminar; Writing Center.

Imagine if Kwame Nkrumah had invited you to help build a better nation in the late 1950s. The naysayers would have mocked his audacity to proclaim that Africans can rule themselves. They would have ridiculed you for joining such a fruitless endeavor. And yet, 54 years later, the world would be studying your contributions to such a revolution. Your name and activities would be studied all over the world as progressive and still relevant.

I liken my contribution to the Ashesi mission and vision with the call from Kwame Nkrumah. I often imagine if I had lived during that period how proud I would have been to be selected to be part of that revolution. Ashesi has provided me that historical role. My contributions to the Ashesi ideal have guaranteed me a place in history.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

